How to Handle Holiday Family Fights Based on Everyone’s Zodiac Sign

Top of the List Zodiac
By: Jacqui Denker | Kristina Guerrero Posted: 10:59 AM, Dec 7, 2018 Updated: 11:03 AM, Dec 7, 2018

Holidays are all about festive music, yummy foods, and spending time with family. Sometimes we share nothing in common with kinfolk other than our last names, and not everyone agrees on everything. So how do you keep arguments from escalating? The solution is written in the stars! The List spoke with astrologer Jim Ventura to teach you how to settle a squabble with anyone based on their zodiac sign. 

1. Aries

Aries is one of the strongest signs when it comes to defending the ones they love. They will stand up for what they believe to be right. They can get a bit myopic and get hurt if you forgot their strength and past leadership skills. Reminding them of how much you value their strength is a good way to be diplomatic with Aries.

2. Taurus  

Taurus, contrary to some astrological interpretations, are not fighters. They usually are pretty mellow and slow to react. The problem for Taurus is that after repeated attacks, the “straw that broke the camel’s back” will make Taurus stubborn, defiant and slow to release anger and to forgive. The bull will now see red. Give them a chance to cool down, or appease Taurus by feeding them and appealing to their indulgent side.

3. Gemini

Gemini often loves a good debate and discussion – even a mild argument. They like the idea of seeing multiple sides and hashing things out. Gemini’s are often good at saying what’s on their mind no matter what. This can lead to hurt feelings later by others who aren’t so free with their thoughts and words. Don’t take everything Gemini says too personally. Acknowledge them for their smarts even when it might seem like they’re scheming.

4. Cancer

Cancer prefers to avoid discord entirely. They are more inclined to nurture as opposed to tear down others. They do react emotionally to discord. They are good at spotting wounds in others and will be kind unless pushed, then the sign of the crab is likely to retreat and not be eager to return. Give back to Cancer. While they may be uncomfortable at first, they will really appreciate your efforts. 

5. Leo  

Leo will often retreat if they don’t feel appreciated by others or feel successful. They are noted for their generous natures and like to be acknowledged for it, even praised. They are a fixed sign though, and will move on fairly quickly if they feel their loyalty is unappreciated. Fealty and compliments feed Leo’s soul and playfulness will get them to smile again. 

6. Virgo

Virgo is often open to discussion. People often wrongly assume that if a Virgo criticizes you, then that means they don’t love you. It’s actually the opposite. Virgo wastes no time trying to help anyone not worth their time. They often can be open to another point if presented pragmatically and if it adds to their knowledge. Practical solutions and listening to and acknowledging Virgo’s good ideas are good diplomacy techniques. 

7. Libra

Libra is not a fan of arguments at all. They tend to have an ability to see multiple sides of an issue and do not like when pushed to exclusively take one side. They especially hate being in the cross hairs of other people’s battles. They can make good arbitrators though, because they are good at finding a happy medium and balance. Don’t get too coarse with Libra, they like nice things and nice people. 

8. Scorpio

Scorpio does not like to argue. In a way, that is somewhat similar to Taurus in that it will take a lot of button pushing before Scorpio snaps. When they finally do, they are not quick to forgive anytime soon. They also really remember past assaults and will store them for later use, even years later. Give them time to be angry and come around when they are ready to. 

9. Sagittarius

Sagittarius does like to hash things out and can find it invigorating. They can put their foot in their mouth often, but usually their charm can soothe a bit of the sting. They will often fight over moral and ethical perspectives and crossing those boundaries will set them off. Give Sagittarius the freedom to run off if they need to. Not trying to cage them surprisingly brings them home. 

10. Capricorn

Capricorn likes things to be orderly and reliable, including any discussion. They can be good debaters but still prefer a minimal amount of discord. It is hard to break a Capricorn, and may not show that they are sensitive. Be kind to them anyway. 

11. Aquarius

Aquarius loves a good debate and discussion. They can be a bit obstinate in their point of view about things but still enjoy seeing other viewpoints – even if they don’t agree. They hate getting pushed into extreme emotion and get uncomfortable if you demand they feel a certain way. Value their unique viewpoints and be a great friend to them to keep the peace. 

12. Pisces

Pisces are not fond of disagreement. Strangely, it can trigger them sometimes though. They can be kind and empathic but if crossed, they will get mean and then feel really uncomfortable about it. Pisces needs to pull away to pull themselves back together again. Give them their alone time and they will inevitably come back around.  

So, there you have it. Family gatherings won’t be so hard anymore with this guide to handling arguments. The answer was in the stars all along! 

Tune into The List weekdays for everything that’s new, now and next! Check your local listings here.






Related Articles  

Mercury Retrograde 2018: What Your Zodiac Sign Can Expect to Happen 

Your Personality Type Based on These 6 Sleep Positions 

Horoscopes: Find the Perfect Partner Based On Your Zodiac Sign